About RMLS

Our Story

For over 30 years Regional Multiple Listing Service (RMLS) has served real estate professionals in the Pacific Northwest, empowering them by providing access to crucial information, evolving technologies and a committed support staff. Our RMLSweb system, available to over 16,000 RMLS subscribers, is developed in-house and includes a database with over two million listings and two million tax records.

RMLS helps facilitate a fair and equitable system for our local real estate industry. We are committed to a dynamic service model that continually evolves to offer the best-possible tools, training, and technology to our subscribers.

Our Values

RMLS is guided by a set of core values which direct how we operate and serve our subscribers.


We are committed to upholding the reliability of our Information and content.

Customer focused

We prioritize the needs, experience, and satisfaction of our customers.


We think big and bold to deliver value now and for the future.


We become better when we work together to achieve our goals.

Our Service Coverage

We are the primary provider of multiple listing services in 21 of Oregon’s 36 counties (Baker, Clackamas, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Hood River, Josephine, Lane, Morrow, Multnomah, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Wheeler, Washington, and Yamhill) and Clark, Cowlitz, Klickitat, Pacific, and Skamania Counties in Washington.

In addition we provide supplementary MLS services in five more Oregon counties (Clatsop, Tillamook, Lincoln, Polk, and Marion). We are not the only MLS in those counties, but we have many subscribers and listings in those areas. In the remaining eleven Oregon counties, we provide tax data and have a small listing inventory.

RMLS History

RMLS was created when representatives from four Boards of REALTORS® in the Portland metro area decided to form a service that was an alternative to a broker-owned multiple listing service in business since the 1970s. The Articles of Incorporation were filed on August 3, 1990, establishing RMLS as a 501C for-profit corporation.

The first RMLS listings went live in May 1991. Within a few short weeks, 3,433 area REALTORS® had subscribed to the fledgling MLS. This was 75% of the possible membership, and RMLS never looked back.

In its beginning, RMLS served only the five-county Portland metropolitan area in Oregon. The Douglas County Board of REALTORS® initiated discussions with RMLS early in 1998 to see if service could be extended to their areas. Service to both Douglas and Coos Counties in Oregon were added later the next year. A merger with the Clark County, Multiple Listing Service of Southwest Washington (MLSSW) was finalized the following year, bringing membership over the 7,000 mark. Service to Cottage Grove, Eugene, and Springfield in Lane County followed in 2001. Curry County and the Mid-Columbia regions in Oregon and Washington joined in 2004 and 2005 respectively, followed by Florence in Lane County in 2006. Columbia Basin, Umatilla, Baker, and Union Counties followed suit in 2007, and Wallowa County in 2008. Grants Pass joined later in 2014.

RMLS enters the fourth decade of existence having changed significantly over the years, incorporating new technologies and capabilities but retaining our core commitment to exceptional service, accuracy and integrity.

Want to Learn More?

Below are some links to help you learn more about RMLS. If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

What Is RMLS?
RMLS: 25 Years
A Brief History of RMLS